Nature vs. Man

Something that I’ve always enjoyed is spending time in nature.  I like the peace, quiet and balance that exists there; it’s cleansing and centering for me.  Nature is a way to be really in touch with God’s creation, and I cherish that.

But I realized something not too long ago.  I thought that being surrounded by nature was the way to be closest to God.  It’s not…  Man is God’s greatest creation.  Instead of running away from people to be closer to God, I should be running TOWARD them.

Do I still need my time in peace and quiet surrounded by God’s trees, blue sky and birds?  Yes.  It remains cleansing and centering for me.  But I no longer see it as the way to be closest to God.  I now see Him more clearly in the eyes of neighbors, friends, family and children than ever before.

2 Responses

  1. This is so true. If God made us in His image, we can honor him by building relationships with our loved ones and those we love and don’t know yet. Thanks for the reminder, Charlie!

  2. So true! Although I think that the peace
    you enjoy is priceless too. It helps me to
    clear my head and bring me closer to God.

Leave a Reply

