You’re Worried About What???

There was a day I used to stress and worry about much more than I do now.  It took a
lot of life experience to teach me that not everything in life deserves the same
amount of my attention and energy.  We only have so many hours in a day – we all
know that.  But what we sometimes forget is that when we waste our thoughts, time
and energy on something insignificant, it means we’re not spending that time on the
things that REALLY matter in life.

Author John R. Noe, among others, wrote that out of everthing we worry about, only
eight percent is real and legitimate.  The rest either won’t happen, happened in the
past or is out of our control.  That means 92 percent of our time spent worrying is
wasted.  Considering that most of the 60,000 thoughts we have each day are repeats
from the day before, that’s a tremendous amout of time we just throw away.  Almost
shocking…

So, the next time you catch yourself worrying about something, ask yourself, “Does
this really deserve all of this attention from me?”  Because we can only have one
thought at a time, redirect your mind to something positive and constructive.
Become a master crafter when it comes to using your time.  Think more about your
goals and passions, how to serve your spouse, kids, family and community and about
all you have for which to be thankful.

Just remember, God gives us a limited amount of time here on earth and you have a choice each day about how you spend your time.  Make it count…

3 Responses

  1. wow. THAT is a great way to look at worry. Worry has always been one of my downfalls. This outlook really might just help me. I’m going to remember it next time I start to worry about things I can’t control. That I’m just wasting time, energy, and emotion.

  2. Very timely post for me, Charlie. In the past, I’ve definitely been a “worry wort”. (Where in the heck did that term originate!?) I don’t know the exact moment that God came in and set me straight on worrying and the amount of time and energy it consumed in my life, but after He did, the past 6 months have been so much more enjoyable. I’m finally trusting in Him and His plan for me – completely. I’m not saying that I NEVER worry, but I’m certainly not so obsessive with it these days. Thank you, Lord!

  3. GREAT reminder! I always tell my children, “Don’t worry God will take care of EVERYTHING. Just enjoy the moment!” Sometimes, I need to hear that same comforting advice! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

